5 Strategies for Running a Successful Meeting

How You Can Improve The Workplace

A A McRae
4 min readMay 1, 2023
Conference Tale with gray chairs
Image by Pexels from Pixabay

How many of us are asked to develop a presentation or lead a meeting and we don’t know quite where to start? For the past ten years, I have worked with professionals, new educators, and students, on developing their communication to facilitate content for different audiences. One of the largest challenges for people tends to be how to run a successful meeting.

I cannot count the times I have found myself in meetings that lack a clear purpose or that run over time. This tends to make me cranky and less likely to engage. While working with workplace leaders, I have learned the problem generally lies with the fact that most folks are not sure of how to organize their people or ideas.

When working with clients I encourage them to engage these five strategies for running a successful meeting.

1. Include Clear Agenda

In the beginning, clearly state the purpose of the meeting, and provide an overview of the topics you will cover. This should be a concise list. If you have a visual, include your agenda on it so that participants can easily follow along. Include any actionable steps that the group will accomplish during the meeting. In addition to creating a clear agenda, I urge clients to create an…

--

--

A A McRae

I am a teacher, parent, cookie-baking experimenter, library enthusiast, and all-around bookworm. Twitter and Instagram: @aamcraewrites