Making Room For An Outsider in the Library

A Secret Corner for James

A A McRae
2 min readMay 22, 2023
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I found a little corner in the back of the library. I don’t think anyone knows about it. Or at least no one seems to go there.

That is until she showed up.

I’ve been spending time in this little corner for the last few months. My mom says the smell of books makes her feel better. Anything to make her feel better is okay by me. But, I get bored staring down the stacks.

I like to explore.

That’s how I ended up here. I’m fairly sure someone once hoped it would be an office or a little carrel. It doesn’t seem big enough for adults, so I could be wrong. It is pretty perfect for someone my size. Or maybe even two someones.

When my mom and I show up, I head straight for my corner with a history book or maybe one about time travel.

The week she shows up I’m reading A Wrinkle In Time for the fourth time.

“Where did you come from?” She asks.

“What are you talking about? I’m here every day,” I huff.

I’ve never seen you before. Therefore you don’t exist. And, what’s with your shoes?”

“They’re Air Jordans. What’s your problem?”

--

--

A A McRae

I am a teacher, parent, cookie-baking experimenter, library enthusiast, and all-around bookworm. Twitter and Instagram: @aamcraewrites