My Favorite 1-Pan Buttermilk Chocolate Cake

The simple go-to cocoa powder recipe that always turns out scrumptious!

A A McRae
4 min readJun 10, 2023
Photo by Anastasia Eremina on Unsplash

I was inspired to write down the recipe below after reading my friend Michelle Jimerson Morris’s delectable family recipe for apple cake.

Can you say apple with raisins? YUMMMMM!

Unlike Michelle’s, my cake isn’t an old family recipe but is instead adapted from a Better Homes & Gardens cookbook my mother gave me when I moved out of the house as an adult. She hadn’t taught me to cook but wanted to give me a handbook of sorts when I ventured out on my own. She was sure I’d figure it out.

Well, I still really can’t cook for beans but I LOVE to bake! And I’m a sucker for anything chocolate.

My family of origin is not. Given the choice all three of them, my mom, my dad, and my sister will choose vanilla.

Vanilla?! Whhhhhhy?!

I mean, who prefers a snickerdoodle to a chocolate chip cookie or a…

--

--

A A McRae

I am a teacher, parent, cookie-baking experimenter, library enthusiast, and all-around bookworm. Twitter and Instagram: @aamcraewrites