My Inspiration for Juneteenth and For Every Day is Zora Neale Hurston

A A McRae
2 min readJun 19, 2023

Celebrating Juneteenth with A Literary Legend

Photo by Sindy Süßengut on Unsplash

As the U.S. celebrates Juneteenth today, I think about the history of enslavement as well the brave people who worked (and continue to work) to document, challenge, and change oppressive conditions.

One of these people is my favorite author, Zora Neale Hurston. She was a master storyteller, cultural oral historian, and anthropologist, who collected, documented, told, and created stories of the U.S. American South.

In addition to her most famous book, Their Eyes Were Watching God, I encourage readers to check out the following titles:
Dust Tracks on a Road: A Memoir
Mules and Men
Barracoon: The Story of the Last “Black Cargo”

For kids, I recommend the Zora and Me Series by Victoria Bond and T.R. Simon.

For more information on Zora, see:

https://www.zoranealehurston.com/

--

--

A A McRae

I am a teacher, parent, cookie-baking experimenter, library enthusiast, and all-around bookworm. Twitter and Instagram: @aamcraewrites