Waiting for breakfast in a fancy motel

A A McRae
1 min readMay 28, 2023
milk poured on a a bowl of looped cereal.
Photo by Tamas Pap on Unsplash

Time zone changes can be hard for anyone. Normally, this is no big deal. When it gets close to meal time it gets a little trickier, especially if you’re six and it is your first time staying over in a hotel.

“Mama, when is breakfast?”

“It is still early here.”

“What time is it?”

“4:30 am.”

“Is that early? My tummy says it’s time to eat.”

“Your da has some apples. You like apples. You can even one all to yourself.”

“That’s not breakfast, Mama. I need something with milk or warm or that I can eat with a spoon or fork if it's fancy.”

“Breakfast isn’t served until 6:30 am. So it’s apples or — ”

“Mama, what kind of fancy motel is this?!”

“I don’t know, kid. I don’t know.

“Da, can I have an apple?”

© A A McRae 2023

--

--

A A McRae

I am a teacher, parent, cookie-baking experimenter, library enthusiast, and all-around bookworm. Twitter and Instagram: @aamcraewrites